Walk of Heroes

November 25, 2011 Oyibo Princess

Oh. Man. I am so lame.  I participated in the Walk of Heroes 5k two months ago and I’m just now blogging about it.   Let’s see…I only ran half and walked half. I think when you are training for these kind of things you do not anticipate the control that competitive spirit will have over you.  The problem with me is that I wanted to run really fast because there were all these people around me running fast so I did not pace myself.

I also did not realize how polluted it would be. The closer you get to the downtown area the more smog you have to breath in. Anyway….Do I remember anything else? Thinking…thinking….

Oh yeah.  Although the 5k was supposed to raise money for people with mental illnesses and drug addiction, there were definitely some 5k crashers: people who love to run and just go to any 5k that’s in town.   I actually think this is good because it demonstrates that 5ks are (or can be) good fund raisers. Keep running people! Oh yeah and I discovered a group called Black Girls Run . I would totally run with them, if I had a car to meet up with them. Soon enough, I will get there.  Black Girls Run is free and it is in most major cities.

Look at the video documenting the Walk of Heroes 5k Event. I’m at 2:39 in the video. Also check out Michelle Mobley of Transcend Fitness.  They introduce her at 1:13 She’s cool!

Entry Filed under: Health and Fitness

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stella  |  December 16, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Congratulations on finishing! Nicole, you’re an inspiration and your blog is wonderful. ❤


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
