Natural in the Workplace: Sales and Marketing Edition

September 25, 2011 Oyibo Princess

Hey all.  Just read a friend’s recent email which said:
“Hey Nicole-I hope you’re doing well!””Just wanted to say I browsed through your blog and think it’s great!”
And then I remembered, “Oh yeah! The hair blog.”
Sorry I have been neglecting you but I have been really busy with school. (I’m in school again. hehe. Who would have thought?) But, excuses aside, this new post is part of Natural in the Workplace Series. Okay. Le’ go.
This edition is about Tamara Green, one of my mentors in college and president of an organization I was apart of called Future is Now, a mentoring program for African American girls in fourth and fifth grade. Tamara works in marketing so if you are interested in this field please read this blog post. Please give it up for Tamara Green.
  1. Name: Tamara Green
  2. Education (Degrees and Schools): Duke University BA Philosophy
  3. What is the company/organization/agency for which you work? I work for a professional hockey team.
  4. Where are you located? Houston, TX
  5. What is your position? Sales and Marketing
  6. How long have you been working there? Just about a year.
  7. How long have you been natural? I’ve been natural for almost five years now. I didn’t realize it’d been that long.
  8. How did you wear your hair for the interview for this position? My go-to interview style is a twistout.
  9. Have you ever worn your hair in a natural style for any job interview? If so, for what position of what company and what where the results of the interview? I’ve never NOT worn my hair natural for an interview. I am not a big believer in straightening my hair. I’ve worn twistouts and braidouts for every interview since I’ve been natural and I’ve been offered each position except one!
  10. Do you wear your hair in natural styles in the work place? Every day.
  11. If so, have you faced any conflict because of it? Any praise? Never any conflict. Always praise. People are normally amazed at the diversity of my hair.
  12. What is your favorite hairstyle to wear to work?  Definitely a twistout. And now a twist and curl.
  13. What hair styles, if any, are considered inappropriate in the work place? I work in a really relaxed environment and I’ve worn my hair twisted, in an afro and everything in between.
  14. Have you noticed any other black women working for the same company or organization as you? If so, how do they wear their hair? I work in hockey so…..needless to say I’m the one Black woman around here.
  15. Do you find it difficult to take care of your hair now that you are working for this company or organization? Yes! My schedule is so crazy! I find myself neglecting my hair for sleep.
  16. Do you have any advice for professional women who want to go natural or natural girls who want to go professional (are entering the workforce)? Be yourself. Any place that can’t look past your hair to see your accomplishments probably isn’t a place that you’d want to work.
    Okay. That was a pretty great interview. Like with the last two, we can conclude by reading this one that hair is not the most important characteristic employers look for in an interview (as long as it’s not distracting or messy.) Speaking of interviewing, I have one on Tuesday. I shall let you know how it goes. Oh oh!!  Who am I interviewing with? It’s a surprise.
    Anyway, back to Tamara. I would like to highlight an important point that she brought up. Well, actually…two. She’s the only black person at here workplace, people at her workplace like her hair, and she wears a twist out.  I bring this up because I was talking with a lady last month who said that she was too afraid to wear a twist-out to work because “they” will not like it. According to Tamara’s experience and the experiences of several other women I interviewed, “they” will like it. Haha.
    Hey, I just realized this natural hair in the workplace thing may be getting redundant, so if you are tired of it or want to know something new, please, please, please contact me at oyiboprincess@gmail.com and weigh in. Ẹ se, o! O dabọ
Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
