Walk of Heroes 5k Training: Day 12

August 6, 2011 Oyibo Princess

Okay. I will tell you that today I ran today, but that is not really important.  What’s important is that today I did not feel sore when I woke up in the morning.   In fact, I could have comfortably gotten up at 5:40am like I had been planning to do, trained, and been okay with that.  Out of bad habit and laziness I didn’t get up that early.

But the question is, what’s the secret? Why was I not sore?  What did I do to prevent the soreness?

One possibility is that I actually went to bed early.  I went at 10:40 when I usually go to sleep at 12am and even 1am.  You really need to allow your body to heal by sleeping enough.  Another possibility is the stretching.  Yesterday after circuit training I stretched every major muscle group.  One day last week I skipped stretching and I paid for it for about a week or so.  Do not skip stretching.  If you do, you will pay for it through injury and that will be a major set back.  You also may get soreness which will can also be a setback.

Here are the stretches I do:

UPPER BODY

Upper Back

Triceps

Chest and Shoulders

Biceps

LOWER BODY

Calves

Quads

Hamstrings

Groan

CORE 

Abdominals

Abductors/Adductors*

Lower Back*

*There is actually some controversy on whether these are apart of the core or lower body, but when I do exercises for them they are for the core.

I also want to add that I hold each stretch for a minimum of 30 seconds.  You muscles are in shock stage for the first twenty seconds which is why you need to hold the stretches for at least 30 seconds.

Oshé! I’m exhausted. Went showing today and will update you about that later.

Entry Filed under: Health and Fitness

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
