Walk of Heroes 5k Training: Day 10

August 3, 2011 Oyibo Princess

Today I ran. I got up late because I was so exhausted and I had a terrible dream last night about an ex-boyfriend so I went back to sleep and didn’t wake up until 7:20am.  Do not really see the point in dating a guy I don’t plan to marry.  But at one time I thought it was a great thing to have a boyfriend just for fun.  Now it’s haunting me. And it was a one-month relationship 4 or 5 years ago.  Mary-Kate and Ashley!!! I don’t want to curse you, but geez…. Anyway. Yeah. To the young ladies out there, serial dating is useless and private meetings are bad in so many ways. You can get killed, raped, pregnant, diseased, heart-broken, even hypnotized into dating/marrying a guy who is not right for you.

Nowadays, if a guy is interested in me, he has to meet my parents and has to clearly establish that he might be interested in marrying me.  Then he will have to go through a thorough screening process.  And NO PRIVATE MEETINGS! I think us ladies from my generation really allow our male counterparts to get away with a lot.  I used to allow so many guys to waste my youth.  Now when I suspect that they are wasting my youth, I do not fully understand his intentions, I am not stopping for him, especially if the Holy Spirit is telling me, “This is a waste.” Guys slow you down. I will not be slowed down.

This attitude I am developing (or I should say redeveloping  because I used to have it in high school) is probably the reason that successful women get married late or do not get married at all.  I am not saying that I am not interested in men, but…I will just take my time, be prayerful, and not anxious.  I have faith that God wants me to get married because every time I give up on the idea, he brings to my attention that I need to pray about it.  I get really angry when I feel as though a guy has wasted or is wasting my time.  The guy is just hanging around for no reason, especially if he is really boring and does not laugh at my jokes or doesn’t have any funny ones of his own.  Or say for example, he always wants to have private meetings.  There is nothing good that can come out of that. Or say for example, he only texts and never calls. Makes me think this is just a game to him. I have had to cut off so many for fear that they are wasting my time.  I hate being distracted.  So distracted that I am not getting my work done and then in the end, I still do not have a man.  I have no idea what’s going through those guys’ heads.

Do not get me wrong. I have guy friends but they are usually the older brother.  In fact, the no private meeting advice comes from a man, Father Patrick, who I adopted as my big brother while I was in Nigeria.  Or uncle type.  You have to watch out for those uncle types sometimes too.

Honestly, sometimes it is quite difficult to know if a guy is sincere, because he may laugh at your jokes, he may seem innocent, he may call just to hear your voice, he may give good advice, he may introduce you to his friends, he may hold the door for you, he may talk about marriage, he may take you out to dinner but he still just wants the cookies.

Only thing I can say for sure is NO PRIVATE MEETINGS.

Why am I talking about this? I am supposed to be talking about exercise.  I think my point was that my life would have been better off if I did not (and I will be frank and honest, it’s embarrassing but I think I should share because a lot of girls go through this) give things to guys who were not my husband things that only meant for my husband. In this case, I did not have sex with the guy, but I did way more for him than he deserved. Nothing against him, he’s just not my husband and hopefully never will be.  I am not sure why I had a dream about this guy but I pray that I do not have one like that again. Just to take away the mystery,  I made out with this guy. A future employer might see this or whatever but I think my story should be told. Private meetings are a bad idea.

Yeah. Anyway. Today running was really painful. Ugh. I surely hope it gets better. I am always soooo sore.  I think I will have to do Yoga today. Some girls in my Christian fellowship say that Yoga is for worshiping another god,  but honestly to me it is just stretching.  It also depends on your instructor too. This week it’s jog for 90 seconds, walk for 2 minutes.  Next week it’s jog for 90 seconds, walk for 90 seconds, jog for 3 minutes, walk for 3 minutes.  That is going to hurt.

Um…I think you should listen to this song:

It’s old. So what? Never saw the end of that video.  Guys should avoid private meetings with women too. The adultress can ruin your life.  It’s in Joshua I believe and it’s in Proverbs for sure. Proverbs 7 to be exact. It’s even all over TV, books, and the movies. Movie: Atonement.  Book: Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. Show: Grey’s Anatomy. I thought that Grey’s Anatomy was such a terrible, terrible show because everyone in hospital was sleeping with each other, but my mom told me last night that every character on the show faces serious consequences because they sleep around.   But seriously, when unmarried people do things meant for married people it can ruin their lives.  You may not be able to be with the one you love if you commit adultry.  I have seen it so many times. Ok 5 times too many. I guess I did not know because of all of the blood. Oh yeah. Haven’t posted hair anything lately.  I am working on it.  I have been exhausted lately and studying Physics.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
