Walk Of Heroes 5k Training: Day 5

July 29, 2011 Oyibo Princess

Ok. So I want to share some important lessons I learned this morning.  So I got up (albeit about an hour late), to go running.  I must say this is really the first day that I did not want to get up and run.  I really, really didn’t want to run.  But I got up eventually, but in my mind I was saying, “This is going to hurt.” I was not looking forward to it.  But I did not want to disappoint the people who read my blog (all 2 of you, hehe).  That demonstrates that this blogging thing is a really good accountability tool.  But more importantly I would like to report that when I started, something very unexpected happened.  It felt good!! It felt really good to walk.  The nature is in neighborhood is really beautiful. The first 5 minutes of the workout is a walk.  At the same time, I was still thinking when it’s time to run this is really going to hurt. But lo and behold, it didn’t it really felt great! I could not believe it. Funnily enough the truth is I hate running. Hate. Hate it!! But I really wanted my legs back. I used to have the most shapely legs you ever did see. Which I will talk about later in this post.

This great feeling made me think of a point in Ariely’s book Upside of Irrationality.  Human beings prefer short term pleasure which leads to long term suffering over short term pain that leads to long term success or benefits.  I think that if I did not promise to blog about my experience, I probably would have stayed in bed and later felt bad about myself and I would not get the obvious long term benefits of exercise (lower risk for heart disease, diabetes, cancer, etc. as well as a beautiful shape, longer hair, better sleep).  I had no idea that the walking and running today was going to feel so good (although I will say I got chest pains near the end, I really need to get that checked out).  Another problem that kept me from jogging in the morning was the fear of dogs.  It seems like in predominantly black neighborhoods, there are always vicious dogs, which is why I always see black women jogging or power walking with sticks.  I also saw a white woman doing that in a friend’s neighborhood but the neighborhood she was living in was mixed. I wonder if there are a lot of vicious dogs in black neighborhoods because black people tend to be more paranoid or whether people want to protect themselves from black people. The family that has always had the vicious dogs were the Rossetti’s and they are Italian.  I would definitely have to do more research on this and stop making hasty generalization, but my brother’s neighborhood is predominately white and there are no vicious dogs.

I want to say more about the vicious dogs as they relate to making rational decisions.  I promised myself that I was going to train for some 5k in May.  That’s about two months ago.  I could have gotten in so much training since then, but I hesitated because I was afraid of the vicious dogs. But this whole week, I have not seen one dog. I thought it was because Mr. Rosetti died in December 2010 and I thought his son moved to another part of Atlanta, but because I woke up one hour late, I discovered that the vicious dog was still there.  It’s just that before I had been waking up earlier than him.  Secondly I am also realizing that the dog may not have been as vicious as I thought.  I was being lazy. In Proverbs 26:13 The sluggard says, “There is a lion in the road, a fierce lion roaming the streets!”  And by reading the other stuff Proverbs says about the sluggard, you do not want to be like him. To protect myself from the lion, I had been carrying a stick so I defeated my inner sluggard. Fear prevented me from exercising.  From improving my life. Most of those lions are behind cages anyway. I was once hurt by a vicious dog as a little kid so I do not think my fear is too unfounded, but that dog moved away and he’s probably dead. Anyway. I do not really know what to think about that vicious dog thing, because in way it is founded in something but there were no vicious dogs. If you live in a neighborhood with vicious dogs, I think you should get up early in the morning before the sun comes out. Not only is it cooler at that time, but the dogs are still sleeping.

Also want to say that I am already seeing results. I have gotten rid of this fat I always had on my belly already.  I think it is not only because of the exercise, but what I have been eating as well as the weight or circuit training.  In high school, I used to train for soccer for 2 and 3 hours, but I would also eat pepperoni pizza afterwards and only did a little weight training (like one day) at the very beginning.  Now I know a lot more about resistance training.  I work out every muscle group and I always eat a egg before weight training–it’s actually an onion, garlic, spinach omelet…so good.  You need to eat  protein before the workout to get good results with weight training.  The muscles also speed up your metabolism slightly.  After weight training I will eat carbs like bread or rice to replenish myself.

As for the running, I do not eat before. I eat cereal or bagel after running. I think that is pretty acceptable. Okay. Gotta go study physics. Sorry for writing so much these days (and not even about hair).  The only way that I will stick with this 5k training is that I blog about it everyday. Tomorrow and Sunday will be pretty easy because I will not have to do anything. Rest days. Finally!!

Entry Filed under: Health and Fitness

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts

 
