Natural Hair: A Man’s Thoughts by Sedlin Mirtil

July 26, 2011 Oyibo Princess
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This is prose by my friend, Sedlin. I asked him to write about what he likes about natural hair since I knew that he has been a strong proponent of natural hair for a while based on some comments he made in the past, but I had no idea his explanation would be so poetic. Please enjoy.

Sedlin Mirtil, a man who appreciates the beauty of nature. 

“The idea of being riveted by Mona Lisa’s long straight hair or showcasing it as the epitome of beauty flows like kryptonite to my heart. I fear that the Black Man’s sister grows up to believe that her hair is not my type or too natural to be beautiful. I personally love seeing a black woman with an afro, or puffs, or curls or any other form of controlled frizz. As I compliment her hair, I often wonder whether she fabricates sarcasm onto my voice. For the next time I see her, she has cultivated her hair with supplements and products that warp her curls into straight edges. She has traded in the natural oils of her hair’s roots, for the grease from a box that is crusading for the image of beauty. Her hair has now been permed, putting a halt to my compliments. But now she feels confident, professional and sophisticated because society compliments her. Sadly for her and fortunately for me, this bondage of her hair is temporary and not permanent. What will it take for her to realize that her hair is beautiful however she has it? I know not. To be just, I must confess that the author of this post is neither a promoter of ‘kinky’ hair nor straight hair. But I will attest to being an admirer of natural and ‘kinky’ hair styles. I do have some specific hair styles in mind, some that I find both professional and ‘cute’, but I’ll save you the burden of reading a long post.”

Sedlin, the man behind this lovely prose.

Entry Filed under: Hair,Men

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. diania  |  August 27, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    what a man of god great creation

  • 2. diania  |  August 27, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    your cool


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts

 
