5k Race for Mental Health

July 24, 2011 Oyibo Princess
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Hey all.  I mentioned in my Operation Recuperation post that I would start training for a 5k Race.  Well…I have a confession to make. I have not started…yet.  But now I have a motivation.  Dekalb Community Service Board is having its annual Walk of Heroes.  This is great:

  1. The 5k is a fund raiser for DCSB which is a mental health clinic for lower income individuals (usually) and because it is a non-profit government organization, it does not have a lot of money, especially because the state government does not see it as important to fund as physical health programs.
  2. I love the work that DCSB does ( my mom works there but I actually found out about the 5k walk on my own)
  3. I really want to get back my sexy legs, because I think I am developing cankles (calve-ankles). Do not get me wrong. I do not exercise just for cosmetic purposes.  In fact, I have been exercising pretty religiously for 5 months. I just do not work out my calves as much as when I played soccer.

Cankles are when the calf muscles have no definition and therefor the calves and ankles look like same thing. No good.

September 24th.  That is exactly nine weeks which is just enough time to train for the race based on the Cool Runnings Coach to the 5k running plan.  Therefore, there is no turning back.  No excuses. No “I can start next week.”  No. Tomorrow morning I am waking up before the sun rises, eat an egg, read the Bible, pray, train for thirty minutes, stretch for 15 and I should be done by 7am or at the latest 8am to start by day.

So this is the plan for the next 9 weeks found here http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml:

I am posting this here to have some kind of accountability.  I am asking my friends to hold me accountable (Jodi, Uchenna, etc.) and I will update my progress on this blog every other day (which is when I will be exercising).

But before I go, I want to talk about what was holding me back before.  As I learned in my Women’s Health Class, when you want to develop a new habit, there must be a stimulus control.  In other words, you have to create an environment conducive to exercise.  One way to do that are to think of the issues preventing me from starting the plan and find solutions to fixing them.

First of all, sometimes when I wake up I am disoriented and forget about exercising.  I just want to sleep in and forget about it.  That is no good.  “The man who loves sleep becomes poor.”

So the first step for me would be to go to sleep early (about 10pM) and set my alarm clock and then put my shoes and work out clothes so that I will not forget.

The second issue I have is that the force from concrete is bad for my joints.  The solution is to eventually buy better shoes and in the meantime use insoles.  The solution is to get up before the sun rises which I have said that I plan to do already.

Another serious issue I have are the wolf-like animals.  Not just vicious dogs but coyotes as well.  I have a book about dogs so I will read that and also talk to my mom about solutions.  I know a lot of ladies carry big sticks with them.  I will see if there is some kind of alternative to that.  I should also find I way to keep my cell phone with me, since most of my workout pants do not have pockets.

Okay. Now that I have dealt with the issues, I have to come up with an award system.  Maybe at the end of the week, if I succeed I should buy some nice running shoes for myself. I do not know what I will do the next week.

Please pray for me people and I will keep you updated. Please check out the link to the 5k walk: http://dekcsb.org/site/article/42738-walk-of-heroes-5k  .  And to Dekalb Community Service Board: http://dekcsb.org/

Entry Filed under: Health and Fitness

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts

 
