My Washing Regimen

June 14, 2011 Oyibo Princess
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I promised a few days ago that I would post my regimen and I have been working on that since, but I was trying to figure out a way to show my regimen that is less daunting to beginners. Now I am finally finished.  There are several regimens. Here is a quick outline:

  1. Wash or co-wash once per week.
    • Pre-poo and detangle
    • Wash/co-wash
    • Deep condition and detangle
    • Style
  2. Moisturize and seal every night.
  3. Preserve style if necessary every night.

Oh. That was not so complicated.  However, here I am only going to post my washing regimen right now, which is sort of complicated. So…let’s get it started. HA!

Wash/Co-wash regimen

  1. Prepooing:
    1. Pour a nickel size amount of oil on hands and rub hands together. (I use olive oil, cocoa nut oil, or Vatika oil, although other people recommend avocado oil and grape seed oil. Olive Oil, found in the grocery store, and Vatika Oil, found in the Indian Grocery store, might be the most economical.)
    2. With oily hands, divide the hair into four sections (oil provides slip and prevents breakage).
    3. On each section, rub the oil  from root to tip, focusing on the tip.
    4. Put a plastic heating or shower cap over head
    5. Put on something that can lock in the body head from your head such as a hair bonnet and then a stocking cap or alternatively you can use a towel.
    6. Allow to sit on hair anywhere from a 20 minutes to an hour, several hours or over night.
    7. Take off the stocking cap, bonnet, and plastic cap (or towel and plastic cap).
    8. Finger detangle the hair:
  •    Separate hair in smaller sections
  •    Pull apart the hair carefully starting from the bottom to take out the tangles
  •      I do this when the hair is dry in order to insure less tangles when the hair is wet (I will create a post amount dry vs. wet detangling later).
  1. Washing:
    1. Put water and a nickel amount of shampoo (or conditioner if you are co-washing) into spray bottle.
    2. Shake up the bottle
    3. Wet hair with warm (not hot) water
    4. Spray shampoo/water mix on the scalp (not the hair because shampooing is really for the scalp and can dry out the hair).
    5. Massage the scalp with finger tips for (not finger nails!!) for 60 seconds
    6. Rinse with warm water.

Note: I would recommend a shampoo, but I have not found one I like yet.  Most hair experts recommend a sulfate free shampoo.

Alternatively (Co-wash):

  1. Put a nickel size amount of a cheap conditioner in the palm of the hand. I use the Suave Tropical conditioner.
  2. Massage the conditioner into the scalp.
  3. Rinse.

Deep Conditioning*:

    1. Divide the hair into four sections
    2. Ring out excess water.
    3. Put the conditioner on each section. Focus on the ends of the hair.
    4. Put the plastic cap, bonnet, and stocking cap on the hair and allow it to sit for however long the instructions on the bottle tell you to.  You can also leave it on for 5 minutes, 15 minutes, and hour, several hours, or overnight. I personally have not been consistent about how long.
    5. After the conditioner has set in, take of the hair equipment, run hair under water for two seconds, not allowing the conditioner be washed out completely.
    6. Finger detangle the hair by pulling it a part carefully in small sections.  If a piece of hair is stubborn spray it with water and work with it with your fingers.  I got this idea from: beadsbraidsandbeyond  Ignore the muffin and cupcakes comments.
    7. After detangling one piece of hair, put that piece of hair in a two strand twist.
    8. After all hair is detangled and twisted, rinse hair with cold water (as cold as bearable). This closes the cuticle which prevents unnecessary breakage.
    9. Style the hair. I will be making videos for the styles. Sometimes I apply a leave-in conditioner at this point to keep the hair healthy and style at the same time.  I like Giovanni Direct Leave-in. Sometimes I do not apply a leave-in and I may spray aloe vera juice instead to close the cuticle which prevents breakage.  This depends on the style. Giovanni Direct Leave-in has aloe vera gel so the aloe is always there.  No matter what, after washing I always put a humectant (Castor Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, or Jojoba Oil) in dry months or an anti-humectant (Shea Butter, Cocoa-nut oil, etc.) in the humid months.

*Here I would use an organic conditioner.  Aubrey Honeysuckle Rose is very good but it is also very expensive. Cheaper alternatives I use are Herbal Essence Hello Hydration and Suave Tropical Conditioner with Cocoa nut oil.  However, when using these, mix them with honey and olive oil.

This is my washing regimen.  Although this seems like a long process, and it definitely can be when first starting out, do not be discouraged.  Making this easy is really a matter of making a habit doing the regimen.  However, I will say that not every regimen works for everyone, so you may have to do more researching and experimenting. I will post a series of hair tips which can help you to develop your own regimen, although not all at one time, so stayed tuned. Most of these tips are on preventing breakage, because preventing breakage is what promotes hair growth.

I am not sure if I was so clear in my explanation of my regimen, so I may make videos to supplement this once I find my camera. Please stay tuned for my nightly regimen, which is quite simple.    If you have any questions please comment or send me an email at oyiboprincess@gmail.com .

WARNING:

  • I do not towel dry my hair.  If it’s wet, I squeeze out the moisture with my hands or use an old T-shirt.
Entry Filed under: Breakage,Deep Conditioning,Detangling,Hair,Hair Growth,Shampoo

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hair Growth Tips Part I: &hellip  |  June 15, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    […] are shea butter, cocoa nut oil, olive oil (which I only use as a pre-poo and I explained in my washing regimen and is also […]

  • 2. oyiboprincess&hellip  |  July 26, 2011 at 1:12 am

    […] I can explain the logic of these two methods easily easily.  When it is winter or when it is cold, people wear skull caps. Right? And why do they do that?  Because most of our body heat escapes from the head (and the hands but that is not important), but when you wear skull cap the heat is trapped.  The same thing is happening when you put the plastic cap and either the towel or bonnet and stocking cap.  Free heat from God.  How awesome is that?  Hehe.  I explain this process in more detail in my washing regimen. […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
