My Hair

May 9, 2011 Oyibo Princess
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This post is in the “About” section, but it’s sort of hidden so I’m reposting this here and adding pictures:

My Hair:

I have been “natural” for….okay. Well. That’s a long, complicated story and who cares?  If you care, I will write it later, but for now, as of May 9, 2011, I will say that by some definitions,  I’ve been natural for about 8 years, by other definitions for 4 years, but I’m learning a lot everyday and hope to learn more and hopefully pass on that information to other natural curlies, kinkies, and kiny-curlies, as well as people who just have hair.

I’m still trying to figure out my hair type. Some people say it’s a 3c. I disagree with them. I think my hair is 4a, at least according to the www.NaturallyCurly.com Hair Typing system. Maybe it’s 3c/4a. According to my reading of the  Mizami Hair Typing System, my hair is V and VI. However, I think hair-typing is semi-stupid.  It’s useful in some ways, but no two heads are the same.

My hair goals include the following:

1. Having hair down to my behind in five years (not stretched). Right now, the longest part is past my collar bone when stretched and frames my face when not stretched.  However, strangely enough, the part on the top is really short which is kind of troubling.

2. Having a healthy scalp. I’ve had dandruff and/or a dry scalp for as long as I can remember.  As you will see in this blog, there is a difference between dandruff and a dry scalp.

I have been following a few other hair bloggers and hair vloggers (video blogs on youtube) for quite some time now (2-3 years), especially this year.  Since January 2011, when my hair started breaking off, I have been visitingwww.CurlyNikki.com almost every single day, more than I go on Facebook.  Through her website I have discoveredwww.NaturallyCurly.com , haircrushBeads Braids and BeyondLong Hair Don’t Care, and Adventures of a Kinky Curly among others.

I only visit the blogs and vlogs of people who have long hair (with exception of Adventures of a Kinky Curly, but it’s partly because she’s Nigerian).  I want long hair, so my mentors should have long hair too. Also, honestly some bloggers and vloggers out there have no idea what they’re doing and why would I want to be led astray?  Although, there are some people with long hair who recommend some damaging practices which they don’t actually practice themselves. Ugh! But we’ll try to avoid that here.

Entry Filed under: Hair

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

May 2011
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts

 
